Launch Week Joy

IMG_4832

Hey witches. That’s me in my witch hat over there, looking all happy because launch week was so great. Nah, I actually took that on Halloween this year, but maybe I knew? First of all, a huge, huge amount of thanks go to Maria Sclafani, Jenny Rose Ryan and Annie D’Orazio for being our first recommenders and all around wickedly smart women. If you don’t know much about them, go dig into their bios and give them all a big internet hug. You won’t be disappointed.

I’m so grateful this week for the outpouring of support from our readers, our writers and some spiffy new authors we’re going to recommend in the next few weeks. I can’t tell you what it means to me to see a community of ladies come together and support women authors. I struggled for a long time, leaving a trail of dead blogs behind me, to figure out how I could write about the reading I loved and have the tiniest slice of a chance that other readers would come and interact. For those of you who’ve started a book blog that’s lying abandoned and forlorn, know that lots of the writers here have had the same experience. Between work, family and y’know life, reading and producing the kind of volume that a successful book blog needs to survive is really tough.

It wasn’t until I was doing some witchy research for a fiction project that the idea of the coven started working its way into my brain: a group of women is a powerful thing and if that group is putting that power behind other women, well that’s something else. And thus, the idea for Lit Witches started brewing. Once it was there, I kept running across other organizations that were based on the idea of women supporting and boosting other women’s work. I shot off an email or two, a Facebook message and voila, what you see happening in front of you started weaving its spell. I can’t stop smiling this week as the emails pour in, women asking how they can contribute to what we’re up to around here. I didn’t expect a little idea for a little blog to catch on.

Of course, it’s possible that Lit Witches will fizzle and burn out, like lots of other blogs do. I know that. I sincerely hope it won’t and that we’ll keep chugging on in the lovely fashion we’ve started in.

So thanks so much if you’re just finding us, if you’re supporting us already or if you just like the idea of some witchy women cackling together over books.

Cheers to all of us,

Allison

2 thoughts on “Launch Week Joy

  1. CWaechter

    Thank you for the books ideas. I’ve started a list and they are all available at our library. It’s time for me to get out of my book rut.

Leave a Reply

