What We’re Reading

Happy Monday! Here’s what we’re reading this week:

under a painted skyAlyssa: Right now I’m reading Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
(which will be on the shelves 3/17). It takes place in 1849 during the California gold rush, but it’s not a typical story of the American frontier. The narrator, 15-yr-old Sammy, is Chinese. When her father’s death and another horrible incident force her to flee Missouri, she and a runaway slave, disguised as boys, head for California on the Oregon Trail.

Drawing of 3Erika: I’m re-reading the Dark Tower series by Stephen King; I’m currently on book 2, The Drawing of the Three. King is one of my favorite authors, and I absolutely love this series. He plays with language in really fascinating ways (a lot of his writing tends to take on a kind dream-logic quality), and the story arch of Roland the Gunslinger, Jake, Susannah, and Eddie is just so damn compelling.

cursedSonya: I recently read Cursed, the first in a new urban fantasy series by SJ Harper, the pen name for a collaboration between Jeanne Stein and Samantha Sommersby. The main character, Emma, is (you guessed it) a fallen Siren. Entertaining, quick read – werewolves, vampires, sex…standard fare for the genre, though the addition of the siren and Ancient Greek gods angle was cool. it was a reminder of how much I like to consume fiction. And that I should do it more often.

ashNicola: I’m currently reading Ash, by Malinda Lo, which is a retelling of Cinderella, and I’m really loving how fairy tales are incorporated into it. This is as overt as Ash’s well-loved book of fairy tales, and as subtle as the overall way the story is told. There’s an elusive, magical quality to the prose that reminds me so much of the fairy tales I read as a child.

 

castleAllison: I’ve been so busy lately and whenever I’m busy, I love to re-read my favorite books. This week it’s I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith (the author of 101 Dalmatians). The story of Cassandra and her family is near and dear to my heart, plus it starts with one of my favorite opening lines, “I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.” Cassandra is equally naive and wise and her narration is so poignant; I get something new out of the book every time I read it.

red tentAbigail: I’m reading Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent right now. Our college book club read it a couple years ago and I’m finally catching up. It’s so wonderful and refreshing. I find Diamant’s writing to be enjoyably silky.

Leave a Reply

