What We’re Reading: April

  18693763Maria: I’m reading Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng. It begins with the death of the family’s daughter (that’s in the first line of the novel, so I don’t think I’m giving too much away) and then moves backwards and forwards in time, revealing the experiences and perspectives of the different family members. It is tragic, but also beautiful. I have found that the way the story unfolds- or the way the narrative is structured- is what makes the novel so interesting.

Meliss16054217a: I’m reading The Book Of Life by Deborah Harkness. It’s the third book of the All Souls Trilogy. I was a little hesitant to begin it, simply because it has been a couple years since I read the second book and I was worried I wouldn’t remember all of the characters, but Harkness includes just enough recap in her story to jog my memory. I’m about a quarter of the way in, and so far I really like it. It picks up right where the second book left off with Diana Bishop and Matthew, so its a seamless transition into the final installment.

NiA Darker Shade final for Irenecola: I’m reading A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab. I had high expectations going into it, and perhaps because of this I was a little underwhelmed for the first hundred pages or so – it was enjoyable, but not earth-shattering (it probably doesn’t help that I was still reeling a little from the ending of Samantha Shannon’s “The Mime Order”). Now I’m around halfway through, and it’s more than meeting my expectations. I want to see more Red London, more White London, more Black London and, m ost importantly, more Lila.

24422345Alyssa: I’m reading mostly contemporary YA over the next couple of weeks: Courtney Summers’ All the Rage, Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens, I.W. Gregorio’s None of the Above, and Emery Lord’s The Start of Me and You. I’m also reading historical and steampunk fantasy: Kathleen Baldwin’s A School for Unusual Girls and Heather Dixon’s Illusionarium.

 

18209268Allison: I’m in the middle of Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. I don’t usually read two books at a time, but I’m finding myself in different moods for reading lately. Americanah is for when I’m feeling a little more serious and Snow Like Ashes is for when I’m ready for adventure. My total guilty pleasure read right now is the Starkillers Cycle by Sarah J Maas and Susan Dennard. You can read it online for free — it’s essentially a serial.


Erika:5096
I’m still reading the Dark Tower series, but I’m on book 4 (Wizard and Glass) now. This one is my favorite of the series. It depicts Roland’s early days as a gunslinger and provides crucial background to the rest of the series.

 

One thought on “What We’re Reading: April

  1. Maria: Everything I Never Told You is my favourite book so far this year; I always keep a draft of a “best books of the year” blog post, to be published in December, and Ng’s book is right now at the very top! I just couldn’t stop, and loved all of the characters so much. I’m always fascinated when an author can BEGIN with what seems like the main event and yet keep us riveted throughout the story.

Leave a Reply

