October Reading

62969177728889O1311291577273ctob15798826er has been overly busy this year, and while I haven’t stopped reading altogether, I’ve gotten into that nasty habit of starting new books without finishing others. I have five books going right now. FIVE. I’ve been traveling and when I’m away from home I tend to need a variety of books to keep me company… Or I’m just feeling a little fickle? So while I am going to actually recommend something on Friday, here’s what I’m reading in the meantime:


Robin Wood Tarot: The Book,
by Robin Wood

I have the Robin Wood tarot deck and though I’ve read other tarot books, I’m finding Wood’s account of her own work and the history of tarot to be some of the most lively and entertaining that I’ve read. She actually goes through the entire deck, explaining why she drew each card the way she did. She also has a big commitment to getting you “off book” for your readings, which I appreciate.

  The Diviners, by Libba Bray, read by January LaVoy

I’m not actually reading The Diviners, I’m listening to it. January LaVoy is such an amazing narrator and I’m convinced that there is no way it would be as chilling as it is if I were reading it to myself. Additionally, I’m really appreciating Bray’s incredible attention to historical detail, including contemporary slang.

The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova

I realize I am about a decade late to the party and everyone has already read this, but I’m really enjoying this book. I do find, however, that I need breaks from it. It’s length and Kostova’s attention to detail are at times a bit overwhelming. If I ever finish it, I’ll probably recommend it. For now, I look super-cool when I pull it out of my bag to read in public.

The Power of Ashtanga Yoga, by Kino MacGregor

Much like my study of tarot, I am sort of perpetually reading a yoga book. It may take me forever to get through it, but I love MacGregor’s DVDs, and I’m finding her book to be helpful and interesting.

In the Shadow of Blackbirds, by Cat Winters

I haven’t actually started this yet, but it’s waiting for me and I’m looking forward to digging in.

What’s up next:

  1. Six of Crows, by Leigh Bardugo
  2. Court of Fives, by Kate Elliot

What’s on my holds list:

  1. Library of Souls, by Ransom Riggs (my only male author in about six months!)
  2. Kushiel’s Dart, by Jacqueline Carey (read Nicola’s recommendation)
  3. Radiance, by Catherynne M. Valente
  4. Winter, by Marissa Meyer
  5. Walk on the Earth a Stranger, by Rae Carson
  6. The Rose Society, by Marie Lu (read Alyssa’s recommendation)
  7. All the Birds in the Sky, by Charlie Jane Anders

 

2 thoughts on “October Reading

  1. Thanks for the update. 🙂 Me too! I’ve also been busier this past month or so, and I can’t seem to stick to reading (and finishing) one book at a time. I think I’m reading five right now too.

Leave a Reply

