What I’m Reading: Allison

26883555 25494343 24690795 A Gathering of Shadows Final 13152194I’ve been reading a lot lately, but I’m feeling indecisive and don’t know what to recommend. So today, I figured I’d give you a rundown of what I’ve been reading and how I’m feeling about it. Click the titles for Goodreads summaries.

Recently finished: 

Traveler, by Arwen Elys Dayton

Privately, Alyssa, Nicola and I have been talking about second books in a series that made us fall for a series; this might be one of those books for me. I was intrigued by Dayton’s first book, Seeker, but found aspects of it a bit problematic for a recommendation. I was happy to find that some development has occurred. The story is still intriguing and Dayton’s worldbuilding is fresh feeling and her characters are interesting. If I like the final book as much, I’ll probably recommend the series. Definitely worth checking out.

Tiny Beautiful Things, by Cheryl Strayed

Tiny Beautiful Things is a collection of Strayed’s “best” Dear Sugar columns and it’s almost like reading a memoir. Each chapter is moving, funny and has poignant advice. Those of you who have read Wild, but aren’t familiar with Strayed as “Sugar” will find that this has a much different tone, though Strayed’s signature honesty is still very much alive.

A Gathering of Shadows, by Victoria Schwab

This was so good and we are planning to discuss it soon, but let me just say: Lila Bard is still one of my favorite characters!

Currently reading: 

Furiously Happy, by Jenny Lawson

I’m listening to the audiobook of this and it’s really the way to go. Lawson herself reads the book, so you get to hear all the lovely inflections of her hilarious stories. But this book isn’t just funny, the subtitle is “A Funny Book About Horrible Things,” after all. Lawson’s stories about depression, anxiety and mental illness as a whole are as heart wrenching as they are insanely important for us to listen to.

Lady Midnight, by Cassandra Clare

I’m really only on the third page of this book right now, but I’ve been looking forward to reading it for quite a while. I’m a big fan of both of Clare’s other series in the Shadowhunters world.

On Deck: 

Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl, by Carrie Brownstein

I have lots of friends who’ve read this and I love Carrie Brownstein, so I’m really looking forward to reading her memoir. I’ve been on a big memoir kick lately.

Forest of Memory, by Mary Robinette Kowal

I know almost nothing about this novella, so it’ll be a bit of a surprise for me!

Allison Carr Waechter is looking for book recommendations. What should she read next? 




 

Leave a Reply

