What I’m Reading (Sort of)

 

26114389

2594479828260587

 

 

 

 

 

 

I need to confess. I’m not in a reading rut, I’m in reading hell. I’ve been so busy the past ten weeks that I’ve barely read the internet, let alone a whole book. It’s depressing. BUT! Yesterday was the end of my last summer class, I have three weeks of vacation in front of me, and a Kindle loaded with books I’m excited to read.

So this isn’t my TBR, it’s my WBR (will be read):

The Book:

Spells of Blood and Kin, by Claire Humphrey

The Summary:

When her beloved grandmother dies suddenly, 22-year-old Lissa Nevsky is left with no choice but to take over her grandmother’s magical position in their small folk community. That includes honoring a debt owed to the dangerous stranger who appears at Lissa’s door.

Maksim Volkov needs magic to keep his brutal nature leashed, but he’s already lost control once: his blood-borne lust for violence infects Nick Kaisaris, a charming slacker out celebrating the end of finals. Now Nick is somewhere else in Toronto, going slowly mad, and Maksim must find him before he hurts more people.

Lissa must uncover forbidden secrets and mend family rifts in order to prevent Maksim from hurting more people, including himself. If she fails, Maksim will have no choice but to destroy both himself and Nick. (Goodreads)

Why I’m Excited:

I’ve been looking forward to a witchy read for a while now and this one seems like a good bet. A few friends have liked it, so I’m excited to give it a try. Plus (and I know this isn’t supposed to matter), look at that cover!!!

The Book: 

The Beauty of Darkness, by Mary E Pearson

The Summary: 

I’m going to skip the summary here for those of you who haven’t read Pearson’s Remnant Chronicles books. If you’d like to read an excellent recommendation for the first book, Nicola’s got that covered. Here’s a quick excerpt from Nicola’s review:

“Fleeing an arranged marriage to a stranger, Lia, youngest child and only daughter of the king and queen of Morrighan, runs away with her friend and settles in a village at the other end of the country. There she develops a new identity, living in a cottage and working in a tavern. Soon two men show up in town: the prince to whom she was betrothed, and an assassin sent to kill her to prevent the marriage from ever happening. Their identities are secret from Lia – and, indeed, from us.”

I really thought one of us had recommended the Remnant Chronicles here, but it must be that we chat about it so often! Despite the fact that we haven’t posted here about it yet, we have plans to discuss it in just a few weeks.

Why I’m Excited: 

I’ve mentioned this before, but the first book in this series The Kiss of Betrayal didn’t make me as excited as I’d hoped it would, until the second half, which I thought picked up quite a bit. And then the second book The Heart of Betrayal was one of my favorite books last year. I’m psyched to read this and get to chatting about it with Alyssa and Nicola (in public — we fangirl out about this series in private a lot).

The Book: 

The Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J Maas

The Summary:

In case you haven’t read the series let me whet your appetite: When the series opens Celaena Sardothien, the world’s greatest assassin, is sprung from prison to compete in a dangerous competition. The competition uncovers a secret so deep and frightening it will shake the world. Plus: Faeries, witches, and magic galore. These books are adventure driven! If you haven’t read them yet, get going! (Hint: lots of people don’t enjoy the first book as much as the others, keep going, you’ll be hooked).

Why I’m Excited: 

Empire of Storms comes out September 6th and I didn’t do a re-read before Queen of Shadows. I want to this time. I need to be honest with you here, having a book blog is great because it pushes me to read new stuff, but the honest to goodness truth about me is that I love to read my favorite books over and over, and sometimes blogging gets in the way of that. I need to get back to my reading roots. Fall and winter are my big reading seasons and I want to be back on better terms with books when September hits.

Here’s why I’m psyched to read this series again: It’s no secret that we love these books and Maas’ writing, in general. We write about her books a lot here. But there’s a few good reasons for this:

  1. Maas’ roots run deep into classic fantasy worlds like Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books. People who loved Pierce’s strong female characters, excellent worldbuilding and compelling storytelling will probably love the Throne of Glass series.
  2. Adventure, adventure, adventure. We love a good romance around here. Blink and you’ll catch us swooning over lovely love interests (Rhysand anyone? SWOON), but though these books have some romance in ’em, they’re primarily about adventure and intrigue.
  3. Amazing worldbuilding. This series’ worldbuilding is so rich I can picture it in my head right now. I can feel it. I love books that pull you in so deep they create a lasting feeling you can go back to any time.

I plan to write at least one recommendation for the series before we discuss Empire of Storms in September, so expect to hear more from me about this series then.

That’s it for now! We’ve got some juicy discussions brewing that we’re excited to share in the coming months, so stay tuned.

 

Allison Carr Waechter is ready for her reading vacation. Can you kill off all the mosquitoes so she can live in her hammock for the next three weeks? 

Leave a Reply

